Ohio Real Estate
CE Requirements

Hours of CE Classes Required:

30 credit hours every 3 years:

3 Civil rights law (State & Federal Legislation)
3 Core law (State & Federal Legislation)
3 Ohio canons of ethics
21 General elective (As defined by Ohio Revised Code)

Ohio Real Estate Professionals are required to complete 30 hours of continuing education every 36 months as detailed above. The term hour is defined as 60 minutes without interruption.

Licensees that are ages 70 and over are only required to complete 9 hours of continuing education every 3 years, plus the new Apr 2017 requirement described below if it applies.

Beginning April 2017, a Broker, Broker on Deposit and management level licensees must take a new 3 hour core class covering duties of a principal broker and other issues involved in operating a real estate brokerage. This will result in a total of 18 hours of electives and 12 hours of mandatory core classes.

Maximum CE hours allowed per day:

Ohio does not limit the number of CE classes you can take each day.

Quiz Requirements:

Although Ohio does not have any particular requirements for quizzes, Training Cove® provides a short quiz after each section to help you improve your knowledge. You need 70% correct to pass each quiz. If you score less than 70%, you will be required to retake the quiz.

After Completing Courses:

Immediately after finishing a course, you can view or print your Course Completion Certificate directly from the website by clicking on MY CLASSES. Licensees can then go to the eLicense Center to upload their CE certificates and renew their license. At least once per week, Training Cove® will also upload your completed CE classes to the state. If you have a birthday and need your upload completed sooner, please email us.

Visit The State Website

Lookup Your License Number